The Lord’s Garden

Publisher: twinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 12 Date August 4, 2004

Several weeks ago we had a bad hail storm in Gruver. You could hear the devastation in its wake before you saw it.

I love to piddle in my garden. I don’t have much time for yard work, but have made a better effort the last couple of years. I have two large flowerbeds in the front yard. A concrete driveway makes up most of the rest (a good selling point for Davin when we were buying our house). Over the years I have gathered seeds, purchased plants from the nursery, and been given plants by friends to put in these flowerbeds. I have two rose bushes that I had transplanted from Grandmother Winger’s yard that were a gift from her mother. There is a miniature rose bush that Reid gave me for mother’s day, a concrete angel my co-workers gave me when I finished grad school, a bird house that belonged to Grandmother Gruver, and many plants that have grown from seeds we harvested on vacation. I have two flower baskets hanging on the house; one is a mother’s day gift from my friend Steve. Tootie’s bird feeder is attached to a pulley so I can raise and lower it to feed the birds. Needless to say, my garden means a lot to me. After the hail storm there was not much left but sticks and stones. I was heartbroken. I had spent many hours and much money on my garden this year only to have it taken from me in a heartbeat.

I cleared away the broken branches, pulled out all the debris, fertilized, watered, and waited.

Today my garden is beautiful again. The colors are amazing, and the roses are spectacular. It has never looked so good. If you look closely, you can see the scarring from the storm. However, it is so beautiful that only the gardener would notice. I think this may be how it is with each of us. We can be hurt and broken by this world, but Our Lord is a dutiful gardener. He alone can heal us, and make us beautiful.

Psalms 34:18-22 The Lord is near to the brokenhearted,

And saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Many are the afflictions of the righteous;

But the Lord delivers him out of them all.

He keeps all his bones;

Not one of them is broken.

Evil shall slay the wicked;

And those who hate the righteous will be condemned.

The Lord redeems the soul of His servants;

And none of those who take refuge in Him shall be condemned.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Listening for God, Mary Teague Mail, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

