Seeking

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 17 Aug. 19, 04

“Those who honor your name trust in you; you never forsake those who seek you, LORD.” (Psalm 9:11)

This Psalm came to mind as I was driving tractor the other day.

Have you ever had an “Ah ha” moment while reading the Bible? The years have quickly passed since this psalm first penetrated to the quick of my heart. I was in the process of praying the book of Psalms. I would read one psalm every morning and meditate and pray it and try and make it my own. As I was reading Psalm 10, I came across this passage “you never forsake those who seek you, LORD.” All of a sudden my understanding and teaching had been challenged.

Does this mean that those who are seeking God and don’t follow the same rules and rites that I have been taught will not be forsaken? What about the Baptist woman across the street? We don’t share the same doctrine concerning baptism, the end of the world, and communion and that is just the beginning. But from my vantage point I see her trusting God and seeking Him. Will God forsake her?

What about the young Muslim in Iraq? Who from birth is told a different story about God than I have. In his heart, he is doing all that he knows and is seeking God as best as he knows. Will God forsake him?

What of the African girl who seeks after the god of her tribe? The one she give thanks to for her daily survival. Is her god the same as my Lord? Will my Lord forsake her?

What is going to happen to all those people who have not been as fortunate as I, and don’t know about Jesus? What if they don’t follow His teachings the same way as I have been taught? (And am sure I have been taught the right way?)

From the Catechism of the Catholic Church: #1260 “Since Christ died for all, and since all men are in fact called to one and the same destiny, which is divine, we must hold that the Holy Spirit offers to all the possibility of being made partakers, in a way known to God, of the Paschal mystery.” Every man who is ignorant of the Gospel of Christ and of his Church, but seeks the truth and does the will of God in accordance with his understanding of it, can be saved. It may be supposed that such persons would have desired Baptism explicitly if they had known its necessity.

Jesus the Christ, “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” Matthew 7:7-8

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeking

  1. unfinished says:

    Davin: First, on the post itself, I couldn’t have expressed it better myself on how we should see those of other faiths. Second, you might want to check the respone to you from Iraq. It seems like a spam. Third, I really like your posts, but I’m always confused on the dates at the top because it says 2004. Can you explain?

  2. dwinger says:

    The comment above was a “pingback” (?). I found it in my Askimet but decided to put it on the comments. For some reason my views went from 100 a day to over 400. I thought it might be part of the reason.

    On the dates of each post, I started writing Mary Mail in 2001. Most of the Mary Mails that I post are from past Mary Mails. I have posted most of them in the order that they were written.

    I do occasionally write a new Mary Mail and send it to my original email list and I always post it on the blog.

    Is that as clear as mud?

  3. unfinished says:

    Thanks for the explanation. That helps me understand…the posts are still relevant, no matter when they are written, though…

    …I also have another blog at http://spiritualexercises.wordpress.com, Journeying with St. Ignatius. I just can’t remember which one I’m posting from some time.

Leave a Reply

