It’s His Time

thisisami.com

One of the requirements in the deacon formation process is to be a volunteer for a social justice or charitable ministry. There is good reason for doing such ministry for Jesus has called all to feed the hungry, welcome the stranger, visit the sick, and come to those in prison (Matt. 25: 31-40). Some of the things that would be included in social justice and charitable ministries are: prison, jail, hospice, hospital, homeless shelters, meals on wheels, juvenile facilities, nursing homes, food banks, working with the disabled, interpreting/translating, and working with the unemployed.

I called a person at the Hansford Hospital, and discussed some of the ways I could help out. They told be that they were desperate for volunteers, especially hospice volunteers. At that moment, I thought to myself, “Why have I waited until now to do something?”

I could give all sorts of excuses such as I don’t have enough time, but the real thing I need to examine is the use of my time. “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us” (Gandalf, Lord of the Rings). If I want to follow Jesus, He has called me to die to myself. My time is not my time. It’s His time.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

