April Fools

Photo by Meagan

I enjoy a good joke and harmless prank as much as anyone. Laughter is good for the soul. I work with the best people anyone could imagine, and yesterday I April Fooled them and even a few of my students. It made my morning when I got this tweet on my drive to work, “I’ve already been fooled by the Winger. Forgot today is one of his favorite holidays.” It was our student assistant. I laughed all day.

Years ago, I read a book by G.K. Chesterton titled “Orthodoxy”. At the time, practically all of it was over my head. I listened to it a couple of years ago, and laughed most of the way through. Chesterton was a very witty man.

I’m convinced that God has a very good sense of humor, and I love the way Chesterton describes it in the last sentence of “Orthodoxy”, “There was some one thing that was too great for God to show us when He walked upon our earth; and I have sometimes fancied that is was His mirth.”

The first time I read that last line. After I looked up the word mirth, I laughed out loud. J

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

