Too much to do

Picture by Andrés Þór

Our OPSU Phi Beta Lambda business organization attended the State Leadership Conference and Business Competition this past weekend. We took three vans of students and twenty-one of the twenty-four students that went qualified for the National Leadership Conference by placing first, second, or third. It’s very exciting to see our students perform so well.

When I got to school Monday, I hit the ground running. I had my normal classes to teach, plus we had to get some cost estimates for the trip to National contest that will be held in Nashville in June. My lunch is taken up with an organizational meeting with the students, so we can begin making arrangements for the trip and start fundraising. Then there is also the questions and congratulations from everyone you see.

It’s kind of sad, because I feel like I don’t even have time to talk to people and let them congratulate us or answer their questions. Instead…I feel overwhelmed because I have too much to do.

I remember hearing a preacher once talking about praying everyday. He said if you didn’t have time to pray one hour a day, you should pray two hours. When I first heard it, I thought, “How in the world can I do that, if I don’t even have time for one?”

I think when I’m feeling overwhelmed it’s because I am depending too much on myself and not enough on God. When I think I don’t have time for people, I’m really being selfish because I have this idea that, “I’m to busy for them.”

Pray more fret less.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

