St. Joseph

IMG_0667

St. Joseph

Well, I fell down on my Lenten intention to write a Mary Mail every day of lent. It would be easy for me not to write again today, so here we go…

Wednesday was our last day in New Orleans, and the Church was celebrating the feast day of St. Joseph, the spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary. We visited St. Mary’s church, which is located at the Old Ursuline Convent. They had a beautiful array of gifts set up at statue of St. Joseph. We met a delightful woman that told us all about the feast day, and even gave us a private tour of an exhibit inside the convent. She had a soft heart for us after Teague had told her that she was an Ursuline graduate. The rest of the day was fun touring the French Quarter and riding a ferry across the mighty Mississippi River.

St. Louis Cathedral taken from the ferry on the Mississippi River

St. Louis Cathedral taken from the ferry on the Mississippi River

But not is all mirth and joy in the Crescent City. There are many poor, hungry, and homeless along the way. And there is not always joy on our journey. I am a sinful man, and I sinned and hurt Teague. I identify with St. Paul when I do the things that I don’t want to do. Sometimes I feel defeated in the struggle to be good.

Teague and I have been given a great number of tools from Retrouvaille to help us face conflict and work through our struggles. I have personally found that admitting your wrong and asking for forgiveness and being forgiven is a most powerful thing. That’s why we should frequent the sacrament of Reconciliation, so we can confess our sins to God and receive His forgiveness. The forgiveness I receive from Teague is a blessing so great that it is hard to describe.

This morning as I lay in bed. I can’t help but think of how unholy I am and that I shouldn’t become a deacon in the church. A couple of hours later my phone rings. It’s an old friend. He calls just because he has thought about me and wants to offer his encouragement. He calls…He calls just because… I don’t know what to think or how to feel.

St. Joseph pray for me.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

