We’ve come a long way since Tornado Jam

Battleship Texas

Teague and I flew into Houston yesterday to begin the first leg of our spring break journey. Our destination was the Battleship Texas Centennial Celebration to see Robert Earl Keen. He is one of our favorite singers. When we arrived in Houston it was raining, and it rained most of the day, but my bride and I braved the weather. After all it’s a lot better than a dust storm, which I read they were having back home.

One of the things Teague and I like to do together is enjoy live music. We enjoy going to concerts and seeing performances in all venues. The first concert we went together was called Tornado Jam. Joe Ely and friends put it on in Lubbock at Buddy Holly Park. One year it rained practically the entire concert, but the show went on, and I got to see one of my teenage heart throbs, Linda Ronstadt as she sang “Desperado” in the middle of a West Texas thunderstorm.

There’s something magical about music and bringing people together. When we were in college, a group of our friends would frequently go to Jug Little’s Barbeque on Saturday afternoon and listen to some of Bob Wills Texas Playboys old group play. We had so much fun!

Chills practically run up my spine as I remember Pavarotti singing the Ave Maria at Hollywood Bowl in remembrance of the Hurricane Katrina victims. I smile as I think of the last time Teague and I danced the night away to The Wooden Nickel Band this past New Year’s Eve.

Yesterday, Teague and I sat at a picnic table underneath an umbrella people watching as the rain came down. It was a beautiful moment. I told her there was no one I would rather be with. Without any hesitation Teague said, “We come a long way since Tornado Jam.”

Robert Earl Keen

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

