Generation Like

Free Vector of the Day #175: Like Button by cristina012

 

Yesterday, Teague and I watched the Frontline documentary Generation Like. It was about this current generation of teenagers, and their use of social media such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Pinterest. It showed how these teens were getting their identity according to the amount of “likes” they received for pictures and other things that they posted on their pages.

The Frontline went on to show how companies were using social media not only to market themselves, but also to get these teens to market for them in this social media playground. The world seems to be a much bigger place for kids today.

Isn’t this a basic human desire? To be liked? To be loved? Heck, I’m guilty of this myself. I’m sure that I will check more than once to see if anyone “liked” this post, or how many “views” I have on my blog.

This desire to be liked or loved is not a new thing. In the fourth century, St. Augustine wrote about this need to be loved, “I was not yet in love, yet I loved to love…I sought what I might love, in love with loving” (St. Augustine, Confessions).

Where can love be found? Is it possible that we can find it from a “like” button on the computer? That kind of love is gone in a moment, as I scroll down my Twitter feed or Facebook posts. The only love that can satisfy my need for love can only come from Love itself. When Love is found, Peace is also near. This Love and Peace are what we are all made for; it is what we are longing to find.

“You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our hearts are restless until they rest in you.” (St. Augustine, Confessions).

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

