Psalm 73

1 A psalm of Asaph. How good God is to the upright, the Lord, to those who are clean of heart!

2 I But, as for me, I lost my balance; my feet all but slipped,

3 Because I was envious of the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

4 For they suffer no pain; their bodies are healthy and sleek.

5 They are free of the burdens of life; they are not afflicted like others.

6 Thus pride adorns them as a necklace; violence clothes them as a robe.

7 Out of their stupidity comes sin; evil thoughts flood their hearts.

8 They scoff and spout their malice; from on high they utter threats.

9 They set their mouths against the heavens, their tongues roam the earth.

10 So my people turn to them and drink deeply of their words.

11 They say, “Does God really know?” “Does the Most High have any knowledge?”

12 Such, then, are the wicked, always carefree, increasing their wealth. (NAB)

 

We pray Lord that you forgive us of our selfishness and greed.

We pray that our lives would not consist of our possessions.

May our only desire be for Jesus.

Then he said to the crowd, “Take care to guard against all greed, for though one may be rich, one’s life does not consist of possessions.” (Luke 12:15)

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psalm 73

  1. Diane says:

    Well, that is a slap in the face to wake me up!! I am not always as “good” as I should be. Dear Lord, thank you for your blessings, especially the blessings I have a hard time seeing. I ask for your mercy and forgiveness for the times I have been self-centered.

Leave a Reply

