Auto-blog-raphy

Our Mother of Perpetual Help, a 15th Century M...

Image via Wikipedia

The title is Reid’s idea. I thought it was pretty clever. He sent me a text me a while back, and said I should write about how I started blogging, and what I blog about.

“Davin, Marian and I want you to pray a rosary novena with us!” Papoo (Teague’s dad) told me over the phone. The rosary is a form of prayer where you reflect on the life of Jesus and his mother Mary as you pray the “Our Father” and “Hail Mary”.

Novena is Latin for nine. It is a prayer that is prayed for nine days. It comes from the book of Acts. Before he ascended into Heaven, Jesus told his disciples “not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for ‘the promise of the Father about which you have heard me speak… but in a few days you will be baptized with the holy Spirit” (Acts 1: 4-5). The disciples went back to Jerusalem and prayed for nine days. On the tenth day, the day of Pentecost, “there came from the sky a noise like a strong driving wind, and it filled the entire house in which they were. Then there appeared to them tongues as of fire, which parted and came to rest on each one of them. And they were all filled with the holy Spirit and began to speak in different tongues, as the Spirit enabled them to proclaim” (Acts 2: 2-4). And from this prayer the Church began. Wow!

I asked Papoo what we would be praying for. He said that he didn’t know, but that it would come to us. About midway through the novena, Papoo called and said that, “Marian (his sister) and I have decided you should write a newsletter.” This intrigued me because I had already written some reflections, but I hadn’t shared them with anyone.

Hence, the e-newsletter I dubbed Mary Mail began. I called it Mary Mail because I thought it sounded cool, and I was going to strive to be like the Blessed Virgin Mary and try to have my writing point to Jesus.

So…I began to write. I found that most of my writing was about my family, especially the kids. Life on the farm and raising three children was full of adventure, and it seemed easy for me to see the work of God’s hand in all phases of our life. I would suppose that most of my writing could be referred to as reflection. Reflection has, at times, been easy, but other times, it is down right hard. (Point in case, reflecting about reflecting isn’t that easy.)

The Word Among Us published a couple of pieces, and in 2007, I began putting Mary Mail on a blog. A year later I started another blog for the classes I teach (Davin Winger’s Class Blog). It is primarily about finance and economic news. Recently, I have been writing an Ag blog for The Journal of Record. It is supposed to have something to do with agriculture.

It still amazes me when someone comments on something I have written. I get emails, comments on the streets, and comments in the comment box of the blogs. I still try and follow the same principles that I started with. I try to be open and honest and point to Jesus.

I used to laugh at all of Papoo’s ideas, and the things he would tell me that I needed to do. I’m glad I listened to him this time.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

