Just Tagging Along

Yesterday, I was blessed greatly with birthday greetings from family and friends. I even got a couple of birthday calls that I didn’t expect. My biggest surprise was that Reid invited me to go to the movie with him and his friends. Teague had a meeting so, I was excited to have something to do with one of my kids.

We loaded up in Reid’s pickup and drove to Guymon to watch “Super 8”. I enjoyed the drive, and the banter of friends back and forth. They tried to make me feel comfortable by playing some of The Beatles for me. The movie was entertaining it was full of adventure, heroes, heroines, good, evil, life, death, and letting go.

I couldn’t help but think of a book that I just finished. The Moviegoer by Walter Percy is story of Binx Bolling. He is a thirty-year-old stockbroker who lives in New Orleans. Reading it was like wading through the heat of the Deep South in the middle of July. The reader gets to hear the self-talk and private conversations of Binx. We learn that he is preoccupied with the women in his life from his overbearing aunt, complex cousin, and the secretaries he is constantly pursuing. He loves to escape to the movies to try and avoid the drudgery of life. Doesn’t believe in God, but is constantly referring to “the search”.

After the movie the question begged, “What do ya’ll want to do?” My reply was that I was just tagging along. It was unanimous from this group of twenty-somethings. “Let’s go to Bob’s!” As we walked into Bob’s Cowboy Bar, it had the look of most bars. We found ourselves on the patio drinking a few beers and talking. Our conversation involved stories and discussion of books, music, work, and dreams. (And how was the best way to express laughter in a text message, Bahahahahaaa.) In other words, we talked about life. I felt honored to be a part of their little community, and listen in as we all voiced a small bit of our search. On the ride home, we listened to their music. The music of the youth always seems to lean toward the rebellious, and it too is part of the search.

The Moviegoer does not divulge if Binx came back to the God he didn’t believe in, the same God, who put that search in his being.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Mt 7:7-8)

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Children, Listening for God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Tagging Along

  1. Sounds like a great afternoon! I’m so glad you enjoyed your birthday! Blessings, Kathy

Leave a Reply

