Psalm 35

11 Malicious witnesses come forward, accuse me of things I do not know.

12 They repay me evil for good and I am all alone.

13 Yet I, when they were ill, put on sackcloth, afflicted myself with fasting, sobbed my prayers upon my bosom.

14 I went about in grief as for my brother, bent in mourning as for my mother.

15 Yet when I stumbled they gathered with glee, gathered against me like strangers. They slandered me without ceasing;

16 without respect they mocked me, gnashed their teeth against me. (NAB)

Such is the case of the human condition. It is so convenient to see myself as the victim. Always doing good for others in their times of despair, but instead of good in return. I only receive evil backstabbing.

How selfish I am!

Help me O Lord to do good for the sake of good.

Help me O Lord to unite my suffering with that of Jesus, for it is in the suffering of Christ that true love can be found.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Listening for God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

