Psalm 32

1. 1 Happy the sinner whose fault is removed, whose sin is forgiven.

2 Happy those to whom the LORD imputes no guilt, in whose spirit is no deceit.

32 As long as I kept silent, my bones wasted away; I groaned all the day.

4 For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength withered as in dry summer heat. Selah

5  Then I declared my sin to you; my guilt I did not hide. I said, “I confess my faults to the LORD,” and you took    away the guilt of my sin. Selah (NAB)

It was 10 years ago that I was received into the Catholic Church. During Holy Week before Easter Vigil, I met with Fr. Scott and, we set up an appointment for me to receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation also known as Confession.

I remember asking Fr. Scott, “Has God forgiven me of the sins that I have already asked Him to forgive? Or do I have to go to Confession first?”

Fr. Scott replied, “I believe He has forgiven you, but you haven’t received the fullness of His Grace of forgiveness.” (That is how I remember the conversation anyway. After all it has been ten years.)

Fr. Scott also counseled me to not try and remember every sin that I had committed in the past 40 years, but to reflect back on my life and try and determine if there was a root or a beginning place of my sin.

I took Fr. Scott’s advice and went back into my life when I was about a ten- year- old boy. I was still reaping the consequences of that sin as a 4o- year- old man. Not only me ,but my family and friends were effected by a sin that I committed as a boy.

The Grace that I received from that self- reflection and confession blesses me to this day.

10 Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but love surrounds those who trust in the LORD.

11 Be glad in the LORD and rejoice, you just; exult, all you upright of heart.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Listening for God, Prayer, Sacraments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

