Psalm 22

My God, my God, why have you abandoned me? Why so far from my call for help, from my cries of anguish? (Psalm 22:2)

The Psalm begins begins with the words of Jesus right before His death on the cross. My mind knows that God is always near, but my heart can feel that He is far away.

The poor will eat their fill; those who seek the LORD will offer praise. May your hearts enjoy life forever!” (Psalm 22:27)

“The People of the ‘poor’- those who, humble and meek, rely solely on their God’s mysterious plans, who await the justice, not of men but of the Messiah– are in the end the great achievement of the Holy Spirit’s hidden mission during the time of the promises that prepare for Christ’s coming. It is this quality of heart, purified and enlightened by the Spirit, which is expressed in the Psalms. In these poor, the Spirit is making ready ‘a people prepared for the Lord.'” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 716, emphasis mine)

May the Spirit of the Lord make me ready for His coming.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Psalm 22

  1. Diane McLain says:

    What is it about our human nature that in times for anguish we feel God is so far from us, when He is really so very close to us? Thank you, God, for always being by my side even when I am so afraid, hurt, or lost that I can not feel your presence.

  2. Pingback: Psalm 22 « Silverwalking

Leave a Reply

