Psalm 17

6 I call upon thee, for thou wilt answer me, O God; incline thy ear to me, hear my words.
7 Wondrously show thy steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at thy right hand.
8 Keep me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of thy wings,
9 from the wicked who despoil me, my deadly enemies who surround me. 

(RSV)

Many times have I called upon the Lord, and many of those times it has been for my children.

Teague and I just returned from visiting Leigh Anne in Austin for Parents Weekend at St. Edwards University. As Leigh Anne drives us around Austin, I don’t have to look far to see the enemies that would like to devour my girl.

I am helpless!

The climax of the weekend for me came after the celebration of mass Sunday morning. A tradition at St. Edwards is for the children to bless their parents on this weekend. Teague and I went forward with Leigh Anne. She dipped her finger into the bowl of Holy Water and traced the cross on each of our forehead as a blessing. She told me that she loved me.

After we sat down, my handkerchief became sopped with our tears. I watched as other children blessed their parents, siblings, and other family members. I was awestruck at that moment in time.

I am blessed!

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Listening for God, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Psalm 17

  1. Diane says:

    Ahh, Mass at St. Ed’s. I always enjoyed the 11am Sunday morning Mass. My roommate and friends would all go together, and then we would all file out of church and head straight to the cafeteria. I was always one long procession.
    The first time I had the “blood of Christ” was at St. Ed’s. The first time I was at a “Rock Mass” was at St. Ed’s. I sat next to the band, in front of the drums. Not a good seating choice. I do not recommend it.
    I am glad you enjoyed yourself.

Leave a Reply

