The Psalms

Well, 2010 is coming to an end. I can’t help but be curious about where the next year will lead. As I look back on the past 10 years, I can’t help but stand in amazement at the changes, blessings, twists, turns, mistakes, regrets, and all around cool stuff that has happened as I journey down the road of life.

 

Recently, I have been reading reflections and homilies by St. Josemaria Escriva. He was a Spanish priest that founded the Opus Dei (which means, the Work of God). Today’s reading made me reflect about how much of my time that I was actually giving to God. When I set my mind to it and stay disciplined, I can get a great deal accomplished, but I can also waste time like nobody’s business.

 

It’s been almost four years since Papoo (my father in-law) died. One thing that I miss most is the accountability we held one another to. We did many spiritual devotions and readings together and would call one another and discuss our insights. When I faltered or wasted my time and lapsed in our devotion, Papoo would give me the chastisement and encouragement to get back on track. Much the same way Dad told me that I had to get back on my horse, Star, after I had been bucked off.

 

The Psalms have been on my heart lately. So, this next year I am going to attempt to read through the Psalms and share my reflections via Mary Mail. Would any of you be willing to take this journey with me? Could you hit the reply button and share your thoughts, or better yet post them in the comments on the Mary Mail blog?  You might think that you don’t have anything to add or share, but I am confident that you do.

 

What you have to say, might be the thing that helps someone you might not even know, “Get back on that horse.”

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Listening for God, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

