Instrument of Peace

“Lord make me an instrument of Your Peace.” From the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi

What can I say? This morning during church I seemed to be on autopilot. Just going through the motions. I couldn’t really “get into” the worship going on around me. I would try to shake myself out of it, but I would wonder off in my mind once again. I found myself getting frustrated with the poor attention I was giving to God.

As we were praying the prayer that Jesus taught us to pray, I was over halfway through the prayer before I even realized the words that I was praying. After the prayer everyone began to share the sign of peace. I offered the sign to those around me. Then I started to look around the Church and the people that I was worshiping with and loved.

I saw a family filling a row that I hardly get to see anymore. We used to do a lot of youth work together. I don’t even think that they had seen me, but they were an encouragement for me just by their presence.  Then I saw a lady on the other side of the building looking at me, and she slightly held up the peace sign that only I saw. Immediately, I felt the peace of Christ.

The thought occurred to me that she was an instrument of the peace of Christ that I felt. In fact, the whole Church was an instrument that Christ was working through.

I have prayed many times that the Lord might make me an instrument of His peace. And today the thought occurred to me that I might be His instrument just because I was at church going through the motions.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Listening for God, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

