Holy Week

Today was Palm Sunday and the Passion of Christ was read. The account was taken from the gospel of St. Mark. I love the way that we read the Passion account in parts. When the crowd cries, “Crucify him, Crucify him!” I wince at the words, and when I hear them come out of my own mouth, I realize that I am also responsible for the Crucifiction of our Lord.

This week conjurs up memories for me. During the service I couldn’t help but think ahead to the coming Easter Tridium. Eight years ago when I was a Candidate, our Deacon asked to wash my feet on Holy Thursday. I still shiver when I think of this experience. He was a beautiful picture of Jesus for me.

Today in the sacristy, the woman who sponsored me told me that I had been on her mind a lot lately. That thought comforted me, and I thanked her for her prayers.

Thank you Father for Jesus and the memories that I have in my life because of Him. Thank you for the Divine Providence that brought my sponser and I together after Mass. Thank you for the candidates that I have been walking with during the process of RCIA and their excitement as Easter Vigil comes closer every day.

Glory be to the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit Amen.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

