ASHES TO ASHES…DUST TO DUST

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 7 Issue No. 2 Feb. 25, 09

Today is the beginning of Lent, a time for prayer, fasting, and almsgiving, a time for reflection by the Church, and a time for personal reflection.

Teague and I went to Mass tonight. The Church was packed. It was full of young, old, rich, poor, white and brown. There was young toddler a couple of rows ahead of me that squirmed and screamed and would not sit still. In front of me sat an older Hispanic couple that was quiet and comfortable. After I received my ashes, I kneeled and watched the Body quietly go forward to and come back with a black ash cross on their forehead. There was the mom who is in RCIA, and coming into the Church this Easter. My heart pounded a little faster as I saw the young mother with short hair from chemo treatment.

Ashes to ashes…dust to dust.

I am giving up chocolate and deserts for the Lenten season. I hope by doing this that when I think of my sacrifice that I will also think of the sacrifice that my Lord Jesus made for me.

May I be and instrument of Your Peace.

“So we are ambassadors for Christ, as if God were appealing through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.” (I Cor. 5: 20)

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Death, Listening for God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

