Prayer and Papoo

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  5      Issue No 3        Date Apr. 26, 06

 

“Learn how to savor how good the Lord is: happy are those who take refuge in him.” Ps 34:9

 

This morning I can’t sleep. It could be because my body is sore from driving tractor and climbing up and down it all day. It wasn’t that long ago I couldn’t even imagine getting sore from something as easy as tractor driving. I find myself alone in this quiet house at four in the morning. I try and still myself and offer myself to the Lord. My mind doesn’t want to. I find myself thinking of everything from corn planting to how sore I am feeling. How can I truly empty myself and be filled with God? Maybe I should quit trying so hard and relax. I suspect relaxing with God would still be hard work for my restless mind and selfish body.

 

Papoo

 

papooI know in my heart I want to write about this man, but I find that I am at a loss for words. His health hasn’t been so great lately, and I can’t help but reflect on how much I love him.

 

I don’t know how long ago it started, but I started giving Papoo daily calls when I am on the tractor or making my rounds at the farm. He is a great comfort to me. He tells me stories, we talk about daily events, catch up on the family, discuss ideas, and challenge each other. Things have been getting kind of scary lately because we are starting to agree more and more. The pride in me says that Papoo has come to my way of thinking. The truth in me says that we have both moved a little closer to each other. We have both done our share of talking, but most importantly we have both done our share of listening.

 

Papoo has been retaining water of late, and has to spend much of his day just sitting in a chair. My heart goes out to him when I think of how helpless and humbling this must feel. I asked Papoo what God has been teaching him during this time of his life. He shared some of his thoughts and confusion on the issue.

 

As I sit here and think about what God is teaching me, I can’t help but reflect back on the Easter Vigil. There were some people baptized into Christ and His Glory on this night. As I watched the proceeding, I witnessed the priest baptize and anoint with oil these new babes in Christ. I couldn’t help but think to myself, “Becoming a Christian is messy business.” As I look at life and the difficulties Papoo is facing I can’t help but think, “Living is messy.”

 

“Learn how to savor how good the Lord is; happy are those who take refuge in him.” Ps 34:9

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God, Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

