Food, Friends, and Prayer

Publisher: dwinger         Volume No. 6          Issue   No. 9    Dec. 24, 08

[Ed. This is an email Ryan sent Teague and I. God blessed us.]

copy-of-krista1-022These three words are very common place in our world today. But, if you were to come up to a college student and ask which is the most important, I would say the majority would respond food.  This word for a college kid consists of a cheap easy fix.  It usually means a trip to the nearest fast food place.  It is not about eating healthy but about eating cheap.

It might come to a shock to most of you that five college men could set down for a meal and truly enjoy each other’s company and for the past few days that are exactly what has been happening.  We all help cook and clean and it makes for a really interesting time.  The food tends to be really good and which brings out some of my friends talents that I never knew existed.

What totally surprised me was when it was time to eat everyone insisted that the TV and music went off and we all sit at the table to eat.  If that didn’t surprise me enough I was even more shock when everyone insisted that someone say a prayer before we begin the meal.  I felt honored to be nominated by my friends to say the prayer before the meal.  During the meal I saw a side of my friends that I have never before seen come out while we sat and enjoy the conversation at the dinner table.  I could not help feeling like the extended family was coming out in all of us.  I can’t help but feel like this is exactly what a scene from the Last Supper would be like. Just a bunch of guys sitting and talking right before Jesus broke the bread.

Bless Us O Lord… and these Thy gifts which we are about to receive from Thy goodness, through Christ Our Lord. Amen

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Friends, Listening for God, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

