The Fire that Burns

 

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  4      Issue No 27       Date Nov. 29, 05

  

Winter is beginning to set in here in the northern Texas Panhandle. Walking to the pickup when the temperature is in the 20’s will sure wake a guy up. We bought a load of firewood to prepare for the winter. Leigh Anne and I unloaded the full trailer, and my back felt the strain. A couple of weeks ago we decided to light a fire. The wood seemed unusually heavy; Reid called it dense, and it seemed hard to burn. As I worked at keeping it burning, I noticed that at least 3 or 4 logs needed to be in the fireplace to keep the fire going and hot. It seems the logs kind of feed off of each other. If there are just one or two logs burning the fire is weak and soon may go out. It is amazing how fast the flame builds when an extra log is put on the fire.

 

Lately, my spiritual fire has not been burning to hot. It seems I can’t sit down and write one of these Mary Mail’s. I have come to the conclusion one reason I can’t write is because it takes a lot of reflection and self-examination. That’s hard for me and sometimes painful. It’s easier to see things when I do good, but not so fun when I see the bad I do.

 

This past August my friend Arnie told me that he wished we could have a men’s Bible study. I thought it was a great idea. He and I and Buster started meeting on Tuesday mornings at 6:00. It’s not too complicated. We pray, read scripture, and share our feelings, thoughts, and stories. We started asking some other guys to come and this morning eight of us sat around the table praying, reading scripture, and sharing ourselves with each other. It’s quite a group. We have known each other for years, and have shared many joys and sorrows. We have seen each other in the good and the bad, now we seem to be seeing how God has been with each of us.

 

My flame seems to be getting a little bigger, but it is certainly not blazing. What if our coming together makes a fire? Will it spread? Will it be dowsed by cold water? Will it burn hot and then later go out because no more fuel has been added?

 

The fire is being kindled; will the breath of God bring the fire to a blaze?

 

Maybe we will sit and listen and do what God wants and not what we want.

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Friends, Listening for God, Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fire that Burns

  1. God Bless! Like I say, it sometimes goes in phases of ups and downs, but each Up is greater than the last and hopefully each down is not as far down as the last. Looking forward to reading your posts in the future.

Leave a Reply

