Where is God in all this?

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  4      Issue No 25       Date Oct. 25, 05

 

 

As I sit down to compose this edition of Mary Mail, I notice that the last time I wrote was at the end of August. Where has the time gone? I have a good excuse for not writing. I’ve been busy… busy, busy, busy. We have been going non-stop since the first of September. I have been cutting corn, planting wheat, and taking care of cattle on the farm. Reid has been playing football every week, and as good as the team has been playing it is hard for Dad to think of anything else during the week. Leigh Anne is in the band, and they are doing well too. In fact we get to get up at 5:30 this Saturday morning to go watch her perform in the Area competition. Church activities are in full swing, and we are what you might say… busy.

 

This last Sunday, Teague and I were at a post-session to follow up the Retrouvaille Marriage Retreat we went on (husbands have you asked your wives to go yet?) At the session the statement was made, “Where is God in all this?” I started to reflect about where God had been in all my “ busyness”? Had He been with me? Or maybe the better question would be, had I taken Him with me?

 

Was He with me on the combine and the tractor? Did He go with me to the football games and band contests? And how about Church, am I meeting God there? Or am I just going about my business. (In a I’m busy sort of way.)

 

I wonder…do I need to let some things go? Is this just a season of my life, and the pace will slow later.

 

Choices can be hard. Especially when I am selfish and think I need to do it all.

 

Come and help me Lord.

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God, Marriage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

