I Choose You

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 4 Issue No 13 Date Apr. 7, 05
Soccer was the game of choice for my 4th and 5th grade P.E. class. We played in the basketball gym in our sock feet. It was a rough game, and even as I think back I smile in my mind at how much fun we all had.

The teacher would select two boys to be the pickers, and teams would quickly be selected. This was the part that I hated. You see I had this great fear of getting picked last, and a few times that fear was realized.

I hadn’t thought about this since…well, I don’t know when. This weekend I was at a retreat. The theme was “Healing Through the Mass.” I listened as talks were given on how Jesus wants to heal us of all our hurts, and that ultimate healing comes through the Mass and the sacrament of the Eucharist.

As this memory of being chose last once again came upon me, I could also feel that fear of a 4th grade boy that wanted to be accepted by his friends. I found myself letting go and forgiving those boys who after all were just being boys. As I was sitting and just praying, the voice of Jesus comes alive in my heart and I hear, “Davin, I choose you.”

The Pope

I find myself very intrigued with the goings on at the Vatican. I see that many are interested in the selection of the new pope, and the speculation of who it might be. As I look back at Pope John Paul II, I see a man of God. At one time in my life you might have heard me say that the pope could be the anti-christ. I don’t see how any one could look at the life and deeds and say such a thing of John Paul II.

It is obvious to me that he was chosen by God, and let himself be used as His instrument.

May God Bless John Paul II the Great and may his soul rest in the Peace of Christ.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

