Agony, Joy, and Peace

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  4      Issue No 9        Date Mar. 2, 05

 

The boys basketball season is over, and what a joy it has been! We got to experience the playoffs last week. I guess you could say it was fun.

 

The first game we played was nip and tuck the whole way, but with a little less than two minutes left in the game we found ourselves behind by 5 points. Things didn’t look good for the Greyhounds. I was starting to get this sinking feeling, and was trying to come to grips with the fact that it looked like we were going to lose. The stands became kind of quiet. Maybe everyone else was having the same feeling I was. All of a sudden shots started to fall and plays were being made and timeouts were being called, and we made the winning basket as time was running out. I found myself jumping up and down and hollering and cheering for our victory. The joy was evident throughout the Gruver crowd. The ride home was fun, and everywhere I went the next day the game was relived and the joy was still present. The thought occurred to me about how happy I was and how long this happiness seemed to stay with me. It wouldn’t let go. I wondered if this was something like the joy of heaven. Was I letting God be a part of all this fun I was experiencing?

 

Our next game was a few days later. We started out great and led much of the game. The game looked like ours to win, but then things started to unravel. Our shots didn’t fall and we lost the ball a few times. The opposing team was making some good plays, and we were messing up. What a frustrating feeling it was! The boys were trying their hardest. The coach was coaching his hardest, but we were still losing ground. We lost.

 

I certainly wasn’t feeling any joy, but agony wasn’t present either. Instead, it was more of a peace, not a soothing peace, but more of a still, empty peace.

 

As I watched the boys after the game and talked to them the next day, I am glad to see that their life has moved on. They are playing golf, studying calculus, and practicing for the One-Act Play.

 

I am glad God has given us games, and I like basketball especially. Through it we have gotten to experience a little bit of life. Adversity, fun, how to work with others, how to follow rules, how to work with a team, and hopefully we have learned that it is not all about me.

 

Go Hounds!

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Listening for God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

