Random Stuff

Camp Alphie finished up last Friday. It seemed to a joyful time for all.

The group of teens that I went with for a couple of nights of songs, games, and reflections on Christ did a great job. We had a blast singing the “Ice Cream and Cake” song, and we got to have fun and hang out with some cool kids. I remember our first year of doing Camp Alphie one of the teens with us said, “Kids with cancer rock!” He said a lot. Kids with cancer just want to laugh and play like all kids, and they have been cheated of a lot of that laughter.

I have still been waking up at the 3:30 ish hour of the early mornings. Not every morning, but it seems to be at least once or twice a week. I try and drag myself out of bed and sit with God.

During our Camp Alphie preparation our team tried to listen for God. I was amazed to witness Jesus work through each one of the teens not only as they played with the kids but when they talked and prayed with them.

The day after I came home from Alphie the first reading for the Liturgy was Jeremiah 1:1-8

I get this feeling that God is calling me for something. Pray for me…

Teague and I are in Santa Fe celebrating our 25th anniversary. We are having a wonderful time.

Santa Fe intrigues me. The name “Holy Faith” really fits the city. There is no possible way to ignore or miss the profound presence of the Catholic faith. St. Francis Cathedral is at the center of the city and with churches and chapels and 400 years Catholic faith literally everywhere. The names of the streets are even Catholic.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Death, Family, Listening for God, Marriage, Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Stuff

  1. Kai Gratton says:

    I really enjoy the article post.Really thank you! Much obliged.

Leave a Reply

