Calling Out Your Name

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 4 Issue No 2 Date Jan. 10, 05

Yesterday, I had the joyful experience of substitute teaching for the 4th and 5th grade Sunday school class. We had some stimulating and interesting discussion, and we also got to hear of a few personal experiences. One girl shared, “Sometimes I hear my name being called and when I go to Mom to ask what she wants. She says she didn’t call me.” Others told of similar experiences of hearing their name when no one was around.

I immediately thought of a time when one of my children had the same experience. We were at a church in Amarillo attending a Christian concert. Toward the end of the concert, the singer was making some sort of an alter call. (I don’t necessarily like alter calls, but God does work in mysterious ways.) While we were sitting there Reid leaned over to me and said, “Somebody said my name.” I told him it wasn’t me and the rest of us around said it wasn’t us, but Reid was very insistent that he had heard his name. I thought of the story of the boy Samuel when God called his name (1 Samuel 3: 1-18). I can’t really remember if I told Reid anything at that specific moment, but about then the singer was asking people to stand up to make a profession of faith. I leaned over and told Reid that I would stand along side him if he wanted to stand up. He stood up, and I stood along side.

The next morning at breakfast I read the kids the story of the child Samuel and God calling out his name. Later that day Reid and I were in the pickup together out at the field. I asked Reid what he thought about that story, and if he could relate it to the night before. He said, “yes” and supposed that it was the voice of God he heard.

We all need to know that God knows our name, and realize that He wants to speak to us. Those kids in Sunday school and Reid have all received a special gift in that they have heard their name, but will they respond as Samuel did? “Speak Lord for your servant is listening.”

For the most part God speaks to us in a “still small voice” sometimes we can’t hear it with our ears; we have to listen with our heart. With the loudness of the world today, the voice of God is often hard to hear. I have to remind myself that I need to be quiet and in the quiet. Then maybe I too will hear my name.

“If today you hear His voice, harden not your heart.”

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Listening for God, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calling Out Your Name

  1. This reminds me of a different type of story, but our local priest has to counsel a husband that lost his wife and left him with a 4 year old son. His son hears his mother calling and comforting him in Spanish (her native language, but not anyone else in the family). It upsets his father to no end, but I don’t think it’s set in to him what a blessing this is that the child is comforted.

Leave a Reply

