Call Mary

Publisher: twinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 18 Date August 15, 2005

It is my desire to listen and respond to promptings from the Holy Spirit. I have been blessed many times when I step out in faith to those things that I feel lead to do even though they may not make sense.

I remember a sermon Fr. Guillermo gave once that encouraged attendance at mass while on vacation. He asked that we bring him a bulletin each time we attended a church that was not our own. The reason for this was two-fold; to bolster his push to go, and to give him ideas for the production of our own bulletin. I have tried to honor his request.

I was reading one of the bulletins I picked up during vacation and an advertisement for Retrouvaille caught my attention. Most advertisements that I have seen previously for Retrouvaille mention that it is a retreat for couples with serious issues bordering on separation, divorce or post-divorce. This one did not. The very next weekend, our church bulletin had the usual Retrouvaille blurb. On a whim, I called the contract person to get the low down. I explained to MARY that Davin and I had a good marriage and separation/divorce wasn’t something we were facing, but we had issues that I thought needed addressing. She reassured me that even good marriages would benefit from the weekend and, would I be interested in signing up? I told her that I needed to get Davin on board first, and I was pretty sure he wouldn’t think we were good candidates. She asked me to check out their website, www.retrouvaille.org, which I had. I explained to her that the website was good, but still gave me the impression that it was for problem marriages. Could she send me some written information? I gave her my address and she mailed it that day. It is an understatement to say that I do not like retreats, but I felt compelled to go. When I broached the subject with Davin, he responded as I expected he would. He had serious doubts that this was something for us. I told him to call Mary, just as I did, and settle his objections with her.

We attended Retrouvaille this past weekend. I was so anxious when we got there, I could not get out of the car. I wanted to turn around and go home. I must be crazy to think we needed this! I must say that it was the best money we have spent on anything in a long time, and I consider it a grand inheritance for my children. Search your heart and, if the Holy Spirit is prompting you, call Mary. You’ll be glad you did.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Marriage, Mary Teague Mail, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

