Check your Ego at the Door

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 7 Issue No. 4 Date May. 27, 08 

 

“May these reflections of mine give him pleasure, as much as Yahweh gives me! (Psalms 104: 34)

 

 

I led Nitro last night. There were a bunch of those misfit type kids and adults in attendance. Over the week I had a good time making a PowerPoint presentation to show, and I thought it was quite clever.  

I had this great idea in my head about how the night would go. We would have fun, but also discuss deeply spiritual things. I had envisioned that the kids would be attentive, hanging on to the words, and participate willingly. Well…that wasn’t quite the case. 

After the night was put in the books, everything hadn’t turned out like I expected. I wasn’t near as wonderful as I had imagined.  

Teens are tough, and many of these teens are going through a lot of bad stuff. They need a whole lot more than me. They need Jesus.  

The reason I think kids keep coming to Nitro is because God is present not because everything is wonderful and perfect. 

I see the same thing when I look at the history of the Catholic Church. It has been around for about 2000 years not because the clergy, laity, or the people are perfect, but rather because God is present there. He is present in many ways, shapes and forms, and the most visible is the presence of Jesus in the Eucharist. “And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it.” (Matthew 16: 18)

 

How is your ego? If it needs checked, come to Nitro…or better yet come to Church.

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Eucharist, Listening for God, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

