Eucharist

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 26 Date Dec. 1, 04

Eucharist means first of all “thanksgiving.” (CCC #1360)

We have just finished celebrating a holiday we call Thanksgiving. The Greek word for thanksgiving is Eucharist. I guess if we lived in Greece we would call the day Eucharist instead of Thanksgiving.

As we celebrated the day with Teague’s family in Dallas it was very easy to look around and count our blessings. The family is in good health and we all have more than we deserve, and the kids are loud and rowdy which is always a good sign. I have been giving some thought to what I give thanks for. “In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18) I remember reading the book The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom and being amazed that her sister gave thanks to God for the fleas that covered their beds in the prison camp where they were held. It turned out that the guards would not come into their barracks because of the fleas. This gave the prisoners freedom to have Bible reading and prayer time with no hindrance from the guards.

I wonder what is going on around me that I should be giving thanks for that I am considering a nuisance? I have been trudging around in the rain and mud for days looking after cattle. Thank you God for the mud that has come from the moisture You have given us. May the land produce abundantly this spring.

Lord I give you thanks for the cattle that Ryan and I had to get in at 4:00 the other morning. We got to spend some time together in the dark and the cold, and most importantly Ryan got to experience the helping hand of a neighboring farmer helping us at this cold hour. Ryan said, “You really appreciate Gruver people at times like this.” I had to agree with him.

Lord, thank you for the people you have sent my way to rebuke me when I have been wrong. From the man who chewed me out at the gas pump when I was being inconsiderate. May I realize that this world is not about me, but that it is about You.

Thank you God for the kind people who have given me compliments out of the clear blue, right when I needed them the most.

Holy Father, thank you for Jesus who comes to us in the Holy Eucharist. May we become more like Him.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Eucharist, Family, Farm & Cattle, Friends, Listening for God, Prayer, Sacraments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

