Terms of Endearment

Publisher: twinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 16 Date November 9, 2004

When I was a teenager my mom and dad had a Pontiac station wagon. When my mother bought a new car, the kids were allowed to use the station wagon to get around in. It had seen better days by then, but it was still useful. It was made of steel and therefore indestructible, the perfect car for teenagers. It was ALWAYS on empty because it was a gas hog, but also because teenagers don’t like to spend their money on gas. I still laugh about driving that car. My brother, Ryan, had a friend whose family owned a similar station wagon. Theirs was green with wood panels on the side. Their family used it for a kid car like ours did. They called theirs “The Grundy”. Ours was called “The Ragmobile”.

A few years ago, I bought a new car. I had been driving, of all things, a station wagon. It is a light blue Ford Taurus. Our family calls it “Ole Blue”. It has no hubcaps, the seat controls are shot, the air conditioner and heater are marginal at best, and it too is usually low on fuel. Like The Ragmobile, it has seen better days but it is still useful to our family. Ryan and Reid have been blessed with the privilege of driving the station wagon.

This summer the brothers (Ryan and Reid), and some of their friends went to Amarillo to watch The Dusters play arena football. They took our Suburban. It is white, and currently has over 200 thousand miles showing on the odometer. On that trip the boys christened the Suburban “White Lightening”. It needs some engine work, some of the knobs and buttons keep falling off, and the back door doesn’t shut right. It has seen better days, but it too is still useful to our family.

Many years ago we had gone on a family outing. We were pulling into the garage and the weather was bad. I shuffled towards the door. Everyone has a unique way of walking fast, but mine brings laughter to my family. That day Ryan dubbed me “Pookie”, and my walk became the Pookie shuffle. My dad hates my nickname, and thinks it is quite ridiculous. I, on the other hand, embrace the name. You see, my children and most of their friends call me that. The manner with which they use it causes me to believe that it is not a name of torment, but rather a term of endearment. Besides, like the Ragmobile, the Grundy, Ole Blue, and White Lightening I have seen better days, but I know I am still useful to them.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Mary Teague Mail and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

