Surrender

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 20 Date Oct. 7, 04

I was in Home Depot last weekend to get some keys made. I had to wait for a little while for the key maker to finish helping someone. This grandfatherly type man remarked, that I sure seemed patient. Immediately I felt kind of nervous. I replied to him that patience was something I was striving to get better at. He then asked me, “What about surrender?” He then shared with me his view of how Jesus completely surrendered to God in the Garden of Gethsemane and how that surrender ended on the cross.

“Never give up!” That is the attitude that has been instilled in me. I guess we all have that in us, but some are surely more stubborn than others. We could call this attitude “will to live or survival.” How then are we suppose to die to ourselves, surrender ourselves to God, and pick up our cross and follow Jesus, when our Creator has gone and put this “never give up” attitude inside us? How do I love as Jesus loves?

This last Sunday Teague and I went with some of the youth to Groom, Texas to the cross. We went to a Mass that was so crowded we had to stand and sit in the aisle. We then went to this huge cross on I-40 outside of Groom and prayed and listened to a youth speaker talk about chastity and sexual purity. We ate a hamburger and got home about 10 o’clock that evening. I enjoyed the day, met a few people and got to see some friends. I was blessed and had a good time. You see it was my kind of thing.

I suspect that it was not Teague’s thing, but as I watched her throughout the day she never complained. She did what she could, and shared herself and her love with the kids. Teague surrendered her Sunday afternoon and evening to Jesus. She put others first and her own needs and feelings last. It is hard because some of the kids who went with us are hard to love. How do you love people that are hard to love? How do you love people who have hurt you? How can someone love an Iraqi terrorist after he has beheaded a loved one? How can someone love a priest who has sexually abused a child?

“It is not sufficient to forgive others: we must forgive them with humility and compassion. If we forgive them without humility, our forgiveness is a mockery: it presupposes that we are better than they.” (Thomas Merton, No Man Is An Island)

Only with the help of God can I surrender and love as Jesus loves. Help me Lord!

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Death, Listening for God, Marriage, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surrender

  1. I am going to be reading a book soon called “Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy” about the Oct. 2, 2006 shooting near Lancaster, Pa. where five girls were killed and the gunman committed suicide. Somehow unbelievably, the families of the victims forgave the family of the gunman and attended his funeral, outnumbering the members of the family there. How does that happen? I don’t know. That’s why I want to read the book to begin to understand a little more about forgiveness, and maybe about ourselves as humans.

Leave a Reply

