Sweet Corn Pickin

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 15 Jul. 21, 04

“I’m ready for school to start.” Ryan declared as we drove back into town. We had been picking sweet corn, and we were headed back to town so the kids could peddle their produce. I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself and be glad he was looking forward to school.

A few years ago Teague and I observed some farm kids selling sweet corn. We decided that would be a good money making project for our kids. Little did I realize at the time how much work I was in for. As the years have gone by I have gotten a little smarter and planted the sweet corn closer to the road so we wouldn’t have to walk to far in the mud. But there is no getting away from the heat of the day, the weeds in the field, and the pollen that makes you sneeze.

I remember the first time I dropped our trailer full of sweet corn at the corner across the street from Alsups convenience store. I told the boys if they got a little thirsty they could use some of their money and get something to drink from across the street. Later, when I came back to check on them I find them feasting on drinks and cookies (about $10 worth). They were in tall cotton. When I told Teague about their little purchase, she gave the boys a good lecture about not wasting their money. She then made frequent trips to the corn trailer to check on them and collect their money.

We have gotten up early and driven to other towns to peddle our sweet corn. I enjoy watching the kids deal with other people. They learned to work hard, handle money, and handle a few cantankerous people along the way. I guess I can spare a few drops of sweat for that.

The last couple of years I have asked the kids if they wanted me to plant some sweet corn for them to sell. The answer has always been a resounding NO! Until this year when Leigh Anne asked if I would plant some for her, “Sure” I said, and then promptly had Ryan do it for me. We have been watching it grow all summer, and today we went and picked the first that was ready. Leigh Anne and I had a good time, and it didn’t seem as hard as I remember. When I asked Leigh Anne if she was going to give me half of her pay, she came and gave me a hug and a kiss and said, “Here’s your payment Daddy.”

I’m rich…

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

