Theories

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 11 Date May. 19, 04

 

“Would ya’ll like to hear my latest theory?” Reid proclaimed as we were sitting in the living room.

 

“Sure,” I say and off we go as Reid proceeds to explain what he has been thinking about. Beware! It can be dangerous getting into the mind of a teenager who has been tractor driving.

 

“There is no present.” Reid says, “We are all living either in the past or the future.”

 

I could hardly conceal my joy. This is the stuff I like to talk about and ponder. So then I ask Reid, “What about God? Where is He? Is He in the past, future, or present?” Ryan immediately was disgusted because I was turning the conversation to religion. Teague got up and left the room. (She doesn’t like to talk about such things.)

 

Reid then asked, “Why don’t we just go straight to heaven? Why do we have to even live here?” We talked for a little while longer and then the conversation faded into history.

 

Reid is on his journey. He is searching for God and the meaning of life. You know what I am talking about. We are all on the trip. Let me share with you what the Catechism of the Catholic Church has to say about man’s desire for God. “The desire for God is written in the human heart, because man is created by God and for God; and God never ceases to draw man to himself. Only in God will he find the truth and happiness he never stops searching for.” CCC 27

God addresses Reid’s theory about the past, present, and future. Remember when Moses asked God his name? The Lord said, “ I Am Who I Am” Let me share a poem I found many moons ago.

 

I was regretting the past, and fearing the future.

Suddenly my Lord was speaking

“MY NAME is I AM”

He paused

I waited- He continued

 

“When you live in the past

With its mistakes and regrets,

It is hard. I am not there

My name is not I Have Been.

 

When you live in the future,

With its problems and fears,

It is hard. I am not there.

My name is not I Will Be.

 

When you live in this moment

It is not hard. I am here.

My name is I Am.”

 

God, time, and the meaning of life cannot be explained in a poem, a quote, or even from a Mary Mail, as St. Augustine said, “If you understood him, it would not be God.”

But maybe they will help us to understand Him a little better, and be drawn closer to Him.

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Death, Family, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God, Marriage, Poems, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

