Sweet 16

Publisher: twinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 6 Date April 22, 2004

 

reid-and-teague-football.jpg

 

 

Reid, my second son, was 16 on Tuesday. I have been teaching him driver’s ed since his birthday last year. It would be an understatement to say that he was anxious to get his driver’s license. He was scheduled for a visit to the orthodontist next week, and I had planned to take him to get his license at the same time. The orthodontist and the Texas Department of Public Safety are both in Borger, about 45 miles from Gruver. Reid, however, could not wait a week to get his license and asked that I take him on his birthday in lieu of a present. I have learned over the years to call in advance of such endeavors to insure that all needed requirements are met. Believe it or not, we had failed to secure many necessary documents, one of which Reid waited until the last minute to get. Well, we succeeded without a hitch and I am happy for Reid.

All my children are required to have gainful employment during the summer. As they get older, it has become harder and harder for Davin to keep them all busy so he has encouraged them to find other jobs. Ryan worked on a harvest crew last summer and is hopeful that they will use him again. Reid and I were discussing his alternatives and I suggested he call my brother, Matt. Matt has a window washing business in Dallas and I was hopeful that he could use Reid. As it turns out, Matt agreed to hire Reid for the summer. Before he did, Matt, Davin and I discussed the terms of his employment. I explained that although Reid is 6’3”, weighs 250lbs, and is 16 (looks like a man) he is still a boy in many respects. He can work like a mule and think for himself, but he needs supervision and guidance. I am thinking that Matt will be a good mentor for Reid.

Reid is a sophomore. You cannot go to the prom in Gruver unless you are a junior or senior. Reid has a date to the prom. On the way home from getting his driver’s license (he was a captive audience) I schooled him on prom etiquette. We talked about flowers, “You mean I have to buy her flowers….they cost MONEY”, dancing, intimacy and other dating issues. I reminded him that this was a special occasion for her and that it should be his goal to be a “good date”. It did not come as a surprise to me that he was somewhat clueless about prom from the girl’s perspective. I am thankful that we had 45 minutes of uninterrupted discussion. He took it well, but I could tell that he didn’t think it was necessary, and he thought some of what I said was pretty silly. I hope that the important things we talked about made an impression, and they will have a good time.

It seems to me that manhood is sweeping Reid up day by day. I’m thankful for this son of mine and hope that his dad and I have provided the tools he needs to make his way.

Proverbs 22:6 Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

Ecclesiastes 5:18-20 Then I realized that it is good and proper for a man to eat and drink, and to find satisfaction in his toilsome labor under the sun during the few days of life God has given him – for this is his lot. Moreover, when God gives any man wealth and possessions, and enables him to enjoy them, to accept his lot and be happy in his work – this is a gift of God. He seldom reflects on the days of his life, because God keeps him occupied with gladness of heart.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Friends, Listening for God, Marriage, Mary Teague Mail and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

