This and That

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  3      Issue No 6         Date Mar. 4, 04 

We are getting a great rain here in Gruver. It seems like we have been dry forever. I am always amazed at how fast God can turn things around. If it keeps raining before you know it the farmers that were griping about the dry weather will be griping about it being to wet to get into the field.

I went to the manor a couple of weeks ago to see my Grandmother. When I walked in the piano was a playing and a woman was singing songs. They were playing and singing one after another of the old songs that never seem to get old. As I sat and listened and even sang along, I couldn’t help but notice how the music connected with these people. When they started to play a catchy tune that everyone knew, I saw lips moving and toes tapping from people that seemed to just sit and be oblivious to the world around them. Music is a powerful thing. It seems to connect to our very soul. When I hear some of the music I used to listen to in my younger days, I am surprised at how much I remember and also at how bad the lyrics seem to be. I don’t think I even realized how much I was influenced by the music I listened to. Luckily, I also have many old hymns imbedded in my memory from singing in church. They too have taught me more than I know.

One of my favorite songs is “Anywhere with Jesus.” It talks about how anywhere with Jesus I can safely go. I can remember leading it when I was a little boy on Wednesday nights when all the little boys got to lead one song each. At that time the reason I led it was because it was easy and I could mark the time, but something in that song got inside me, and I still fall back on it. You see I can go ANYWHERE with Jesus. Even if it is a place that I don’t feel very comfortable in going, I just try and remember Jesus is there with me. I used to be uncomfortable going to different churches. I guess it was because I didn’t know what to expect and it was just well… different from what I was used to. When I started taking the attitude of taking Jesus with me, I felt safe… still a little uncomfortable, but in a safe kind of way.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Family, Farm & Cattle, Friends, Listening for God, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This and That

  1. Robert says:

    Thanks for your personal comments, and for referencing Jesse Pounds’s hymn, “Anywhere with Jesus.” (Today is the 148th anniversary of her birth.) I can recall being wheeled into the operating room for surgery and being reassured by the thought that the Lord was right there with me. God bless.

Leave a Reply

