My Little Cross

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  3      Issue No 5         Date Feb. 26, 04 

 

office-007.jpgIt’s two Popsicle sticks glued together with a piece of black yarn passing through the hole drilled in the top. That is my cross.

 

I spent the last weekend on a youth retreat. It turned out to be awesome. Have you ever felt like you were right in the middle of God’s will? As I reflect back on the weekend retreat, it seems that we were right in the middle of God. That’s a good place to be. From the behavior of the kids to the speakers everything seemed to just fit together. It really seemed like God was in control.

 

As I watched the retreat progress, I got a chuckle at seeing the kids getting taken out of their comfort zones. Praying, singing, listening to personal encounters with God, and doing skits were only a few of the things that made some of the kids more than a little uncomfortable. It was cool to watch the kids progress from the attitude, “I’m not going to sing and you can’t make me.” To, a grand entrance by the high school boys singing the chorus,  “yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord” as they entered the sanctuary after cleaning their room.  Prayer had been answered; they had indeed come closer to God.

 

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday and the beginning of Lent. At the service the priest gave us all these small little crosses made out of Popsicle sticks to wear. We are to wear them during this period of Lent to show the world that we are Catholic, and we believe in Jesus Christ and what He did on the cross. I wonder if God got a little chuckle as He watched me squirm as I thought about wearing this cross to the farm store, to the basketball games, and everywhere else I went. You see I like to be like the kids and pass under the radar. Now, I feel like I have this huge target around my neck with these two Popsicle sticks hanging from it. Do you reckon priest, nuns, and clergy feel like targets as they walk through this world?

 

I’m sure I will be blessed just like the kids were when I get out of my comfort zone and get right in the middle of God.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Death, Eucharist, Friends, Listening for God, Prayer, Sacraments and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

