God’s Presence

Publisher: dwinger Volume No. 3 Issue No 4 Date Feb. 11, 04

“When the priests left the holy place the cloud filled the temple of the Lord so the priests could no longer minister because of the cloud, since the Lord’s glory had filled the temple of the Lord.” 1 kings 8:10-11

 

These verses tell of what happened when Solomon dedicated the newly built temple to the Lord. It sounds like to me that God made his presence known in the form of a cloud so thick that the priests couldn’t even see each other.

 

I remember reading about this about twelve years ago. You see twelve years ago something special happened in Teague’s and my life. Leigh Anne was born. Teague was in labor all night long, and Leigh Anne was born early on the morning of the 11th. I remember when I walked out to the car a little after 8:00 in the morning to call the bank and tell the girls Teague worked with the news. A very heavy fog was around me. At the time I had been reading out of the book of Kings and was reminded of the cloud that had descended in the temple and how God had made His presence known there. At that moment alone in the car, I too felt the presence of God. I had just experienced a new life being born into this world. Little did I know at the time how much of an impact this little girl would have on me.

 

I just so happen to read this same reading yesterday, and I wasn’t reminded of Leigh Anne’s birth. Ikrista1-024.jpg suppose I was just reading along. You know just getting my daily Bible reading done, but this morning Teague and I went to the doctor. I had to get a routine exam and we reminded the doctor of Leigh Anne’s birth. It was then I remembered the heaviness of the fog, and the feeling I had that God was present. At the time I thanked God for Leigh Anne and that she was healthy.

 

Did I thank Him for the health of my children today? Or did I just pass the day away as usual taking it all for granted? Have I recognized God’s presence today? Have I even looked around to see what He is up to? Is His presence so thick that I can’t even see others?

 

Open my eyes Lord so that I may be aware of Your presence.

 

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Friends, Listening for God, Marriage, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

