Nothing Much

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  3      Issue No 3         Date Feb. 4, 04

office-006.jpgI just can’t seem to think of anything special to say, so here are a few random thoughts about… nothing much.

 

I have a NASCAR flashlight in my office that my friend Paul gave me. He said it was to remind me to be a light to the world since his nephew was my new godson. I don’t feel very bright lately.

 

I have been reading out of the books of 1 and 2 Samuel lately. One thing that has come to my mind is that Saul seemed to be a very poor king, but had a very good son in Jonathan. David on the other hand was a fairly good king and a man after God’s own heart, but had some very bad children. I have no conclusions to draw from this, just observations.

 

I messed up the other night. Ryan came home from Nitro and wanted to talk about it. I listened for a little while and then started back reading. After I realized what I had done, I tried to reengage him; it was to late. My loss.

 

The Super Bowl halftime show was gross, but we had of fun time during the Super Bowl. A couple of our friends were over, who are the kind of friends that you can be completely comfortable with. We got to eat some boiled shrimp too. I always like that.

 

Reid is still growing not only physically but also intellectually. Sometimes I wonder if he is to smart for his own good. I cringe at times when I hear of him tell of his banter with teachers and clowning in class. Is it sort of like looking at a picture of yourself? We only see the bad parts, or what we think are the bad parts of ourselves.

 

“Whatever you do in word and deed, do all in the name of the Lord.” (Somewhere in Colossians) Does that mean even bushing my teeth?

 

Can a person be proud about not being proud?

 

Leigh Anne showed me her hair last night after she had straightened it. What is funny is her hair is  naturally straight, but she is convinced that it looks much prettier after she has straightened it. Is this only the beginning of things I won’t understand about my daughter?

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Friends, Listening for God, Marriage, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

