Words That Feed Me

Publisher: twinger      Volume No.  3       Issue No 3         Date March 12, 2004

 The nature of the work I do allows me to be in daily contact with confidential information. It is clear to me that nothing I see or hear about our customers should ever leave the bank and doing so would be grounds for termination. Most people would never think to ask me about these things because this confidentiality is implicit. This last week, a friend of mine confessed a personal confidence to me through the course of a conversation. The information was good and I couldn’t wait to spread the good news. My friend, however, asked me not to tell anyone. From that point forward, it was almost as if this knowledge took hold of me.  

Proverbs 11:13   A gossip betrays a confidence, but a trustworthy man keeps a secret.

Proverbs 18:8    The words of a gossip are like choice morsels; they go down to a man’s inmost parts. 

Boy could I relate to both of these verses. It is easy to keep work secrets, but it took everything I had to keep my friend’s confidence. The scriptures strengthened my resolve.  

Since it is Lent, we are called to participate in the suffering of Our Lord. One of the ways that we do this is by fasting and abstinence. I can usually handle the abstinence part, but fasting is another matter. My stomach aches with a desire to eat. It works on me like the confidence of my friend. When this desire takes hold, one is supposed to pray and center their mind on spiritual things. In this way, we are drawn closer to Christ. I am reminded of the old saying that “the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”. I wonder if the purging of my stomach through fasting and abstinence is designed to send my heart to Christ by feasting on prayer and the scriptures. 

Proverbs 7:1-3     My son, keeps my words and store up my commands within you. Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.                                                       

I do know that in both of these situations my body and soul was tempted to betray a commitment. I am thankful that I have been given God’s word to set my heart and actions aright.

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Friends, Listening for God, Marriage, Mary Teague Mail, Prayer, Questions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

