Sword Play

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  2      Issue No 42       Date Oct. 28, 03

sword.jpg“Indeed the word of God is living and effective, sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating even between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, and able to discern reflections and thoughts of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

 

Indeed this verse seems to be so true. In Revelation chapter 19 John refers to the rider on a white horse whose name was called the Word of God and out of his mouth came a sharp sword. white-rider.jpg

 

I have heard and seen people cut to shreds by the Word of God. Surely you have too. Someone uses The Sacred Scriptures to win their argument and cut someone else down. I must say I have done it a time or two myself.

Do you think that is what the author of Hebrews is talking about? Are we to use scripture to show how our interpretation is correct and everyone else’s is wrong?

 

There have been many verses in scripture that have had a penetrating effect on me. I have had more than one “ah ha” moment while reading the Bible. It is when I am reading and applying it to myself that the sword starts to penetrate my very fiber and soul.

 

One of the first sections of scriptures that really got to me was Luke 6:37 and following. Jesus is telling his followers. “Stop judging and you will not be judged. Stop condemning and you will not be condemned. Forgive and you will be forgiven…”

 

All of a sudden it hit me, I needed to stop judging people. And believe me I had been judging quite frequently. While I had been judging I had been doing quite a bit of condemning also. Later I read that Jesus didn’t even come to the world to condemn. (John 3:17) So what in the world am I doing in the judging and condemning business.

 

I remember discussing this with a priest friend of mine one day. He gave me some very good advice. He said, “Don’t judge. Don’t even judge yourself.” Now that was a new concept to me!

 

Have I quit judging others and myself? I can honestly say no, but I do catch myself occasionally right in the middle of a good juicy judgment, and I can hear myself say, “‘don’t judge Davin.”

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Death, Listening for God, Prayer, Questions, Sacraments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

