Football

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  2      Issue No 33       Date Aug. 13, 03

school-logo.jpgThe shrill beeping of the alarm clock suddenly interrupts the quiet morning. It’s 5:30 AM and the boys have football practice at 6:30 this morning. Reid just made the comment, “I’m so tired.”

 

 

The boys are in their second week of two a day practices and it is starting to wear on them a little. Last night there was quite a crowd of vehicles at the practice field as the fans came to watch. There was almost a traffic jam when everyone started to go home after practice was over. Anxiousness and excitement are in the air. Gruver is not always strong in football and everyone hopes that this year we will have a better showing.

 

 

The battle has already started inside me. You know the one where I worry about whether the coach will do things the way I think they should be done.

 

Will I ever learn?

 

When the boys come home from practice, my first instinct is to ask what happened at practice. I have found that when I follow my instinct their reaction is to say, “Nothing Dad.” I have noticed lately that if I just be patient that they will tell me on their own some of the things they have done. They especially like to tell me about some suffering they have endured or if they had a big hit. When they start to talk that is when it is my queue to listen. So I do. (I also try to get in as many of my questions as possible before they catch on.)

I don’t know how this season will turn out, but I do know that it will be much better for me if I can keep it all in perspective.

 

A few weeks ago I played golf with my brother Darin. He told me that the secret to playing golf is “low expectations.” I wonder if that would work with me and football?

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Listening for God, Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

