Prayer Podge

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  2      Issue No 29       Date Jul. 8, 03

I don’t seem to have anything taxing on my mind to tell you about this week. Could I ask you to pray for a few things?

 

I just got word that a high school classmate of mine lost her husband in a car accident this morning. Lord hear our prayer.

 

My friend Art, who is in a life and death struggle with cancer, he has had over half a lung removed and is now going through treatment. I went to visit him today, and he is stronger. We had a laugh or two talking about our kids. They are some of the things we both cherish greatly.

 

I am helping organize a youth rally that will take place at Pampa on August the 9th. It is for the Catholic youth of the area. Please pray that the youth would come with open minds and softened hearts, and that we all might come closer to Jesus.

 

I received a cool gift last Sunday. The Deacon in our church gave me his copy of “Christian Prayer: Liturgy of the Hours”. It has all sorts of prayers to be said at morning, evening, and night and special occasions. I don’t know if I will ever be able to figure out how to use it all, but I’m not sure that there is a wrong way to pray. Is there?

 

I read a verse out of Psalms weekend before last that has stuck with me. Maybe you will like it too. “Learn to savor how good the Lord is; happy are those who take refuge in him.” Psalm 34:9. May we all take refuge in the Lord and savor Him like a tender piece of steak that is cooked to perfection. I always want more and more of that steak. J

Work and Play

 

Leigh Anne and her cousin Toby have been painting the house this afternoon. They just came in and said they were about to need more paint. Leigh Anne mentioned that the swimming pool would be open for a couple of more hours and since they were out of paint maybe they could go. It sounded like a good idea to me, so I said OK. They were about to bounce off the walls with happiness. Do you suppose a little work makes play more fun?

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Death, Family, Friends, Listening for God, Marriage, Prayer, Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

