Books I Liked

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  1          Issue No 13        Date : Nov. 20, 02 

Have you ever browsed around on the Amazon Internet bookstore? I like to look around there at times. There is a service they have called booklists. Anyone can create a list of books, which they recommend to read. There are all different categories of lists and the subject matter ranges far and wide. So… since I like to read, I thought I would make a list.

 

The Holy Bible- The book of books. It has it all love, violence, murder, lying, deceit, and the hero wins in the end.

 

Point Man by Steve Farrar- I loved this book and have read it a few times. It truly convicted me that I should be the spiritual leader of our family. (Still working on that part)

 

The Screwtape Letters by C. S. Lewis- My first C. S. Lewis book. Makes you think like the devil.

 

The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis- Children’s stories with a Christian theme. I didn’t read them until I was in my 30’s, but I still am part kid.

 

Run Baby Run by Nicky Cruz- My Grandmother Gruver gave this book to me in high school and I really identified with this tough New York gang member. (Sounds kind of funny coming from a farm boy in Gruver)

 

Mila 18, Exodus, and Trinity by Leon Uris – He has written many more. These are the only ones I have read, great historical fiction.

 

Ben Hur- Much better than the movie. I almost fell off the couch late one night when I read, “Men listening for the voice of God, or waiting a sign from Heaven, cannot sleep.”

 

Robinson Crusoe- Classic and fun, did you know he fasted and prayed to God one day every year to thank Him for saving him from the sea?

 

The Catechism of the Catholic Church- told me what Catholics believe from the Catholics themselves.

 

The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien- This quote from Fellowship of the Ring seems to describe denominationalism. “Indeed is nothing in the power of the Dark Lord more clearly shown than the estrangement that divides all those who still oppose him.”

 

The Scarlet Letter by Hawthorne- I had to read this twice in college for English. I enjoyed it and all the symbolism both times.

 

Story of a Soul by St. Therese of Lisieux- I read it twice and need to read it again. Here is one line I love. “The sun shines equally both on cedars and on every tiny flower. In just the same way God looks after every soul as if it had no equal.”

 

Rome Sweet Home by Scott and Kimberly Hahn- Presbyterian minister and wife share their witness of their conversion to the Catholic Church.

 

Imitation of Christ by Thomas A Kempis- Have you tried to imitate Christ?

Crossing the Threshold of Hope by Pope John Paul II- “Be not afraid.” Everyone should read something a pope has written.

The Hiding Placeby Corrie Ten Boom- Faith in action.

Joan of Arc by Mark Twain- yes I said Mark Twain. Great Book!

 “Consider this unique and imposing distinction. Since the writing of human history began, John of Arc is the only person, of either sex, who has ever held supreme command of the military forces of a nation at the age of seventeen.” Louis Kossuth

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Listening for God, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

