Signs

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  1       Issue No 11            Date : Nov. 4, 02

Have you ever noticed the beauty of a rainbow? Ever had the feeling that a rainbow was just for you? A few years ago I was plowing a field. I turned my tractor back toward the west and there it was: the most beautiful and perfect rainbow in an almost cloudless sky. It seemed meant just for me. After all, there wasn’t anyone else around. I remember telling my church in a devotional that night that God had sent me a sign. Of course, rainbows are frequent signs from God and everyone seems comfortable talking about rainbows.

 

A few years later, I attended a weekend of spiritual renewal called a “Walk to Emmaus”. This retreat has its roots in
Spain and there is a song we sang called De Colores, which means “the colors” in Spanish. De Colores becomes a greeting among the pilgrims on the retreat and there are many pictures of rainbows with all the colors. I had a very exciting time on my ‘Walk’ and truly my spirit was renewed. Not too long after I got home, I was reflecting on what God had done in my life and it occurred to me that the rainbow in the field was meant just for me. He had shown me a sign of the ‘Walk to Emmaus’.

 

Fast-forward a few more years. I had decided to convert to the Catholic Church. We were in
Amarillo so that I could be presented to the bishop of our diocese with all the other candidates for conversion. After the presentation we were driving to a restaurant to eat. I was still nervous and thinking to myself, “What have I gotten myself into?” I was having second thoughts about whether I had done the right thing. All a sudden one of the kids from the back seat says, “Hey Dad, look at the rainbow.” There it was right outside my window…

 

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Children, Family, Listening for God, Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

