Epiphany

Publisher: dwinger      Volume No.  2      Issue No 1         Date Jan. 5, 03


Have you ever thought to your self? How good God is?

 

It had been a long hot day of putting wheat up in the grain bins. One of the hottest jobs that I dread the most during wheat harvest is that of unloading trucks and augering wheat into the grain bins to store for seed until the fall planting. The weather is usually hot and windy with grain dust flying everywhere. It usually takes about 45 minutes to an hour to unload a truck so there is plenty of sitting around and waiting and thinking. It was mealtime, and I had picked up a hamburger at the local Dairy Queen. We had been working all day and I was plenty hungry. So I sat down and watched the truck unload and enjoyed my hamburger.

 

As I was eating, I couldn’t believe how good that burger tasted. In fact I chewed each bite as long as I could so that I could savor the taste. It was then that it hit me. God could even make a Dairy Queen hamburger taste good! He loved me so much that he gave me taste buds and smell and all the things necessary so that I could enjoy this hunk of meat that I needed for nutrition. Isn’t that a good Creator? To many times I gulp down my food like a dog, but ever since this moment I try and slow down and enjoy the food that God has given me.

 

This past week in Church, we just finished celebrating the Epiphany of Christ. An epiphany is a realization, and it is amazing how many I can think that I have had. You see, while I am sitting in the middle of nowhere eating a DQ burger, God can come into my life and show me how good He is. He loves us so much that every day things we do t0 survive and live are enjoyable.

 

Why it even feels good to go to the bathroom!

 

He truly is a good and loving God!

About dwinger

Former farmer, now college instructor
This entry was posted in Catholic, Farm & Cattle, Listening for God, Prayer, Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment